The Restless Sleep header image 3

Cold Case Squads and Other Organizations

IMPORTANT: Before you contact a Cold Case Squad, please click here and follow these guidelines.

This list was last updated on April 17, 2014.

Cold Case Squads are created or disbanded all the time, people transfer or retire. If you are a member of a Cold Case Squad and your squad isn’t listed, or the information here is not correct, please email me and I will make corrections or additions.

If you are a family member and you find that someone no longer works at the squad listed, ask to speak to the person who took their place, and please email me to let me know that I need to update my list.

Education and Organizations

American Academy of Forensic Sciences
719-636-1100
Fax: 719-636-1993

Center for Homicide Research
3036 University Avenue SE Suite E
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3316
Their website.
(612) 331-4820

The Cold Case Forum, LLC.
T: 401-619-1901
F: 401-619-1903
director@coldcaseforum.com

Henry C. Lee Institute of Forensic Science
University of New Haven
Their website.
Dr. Albert Harper
aharper@newhaven.edu
Dr. James Adcock, Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice
203-932-7442

Institute for Cold Case Evaluations, Inc.
Max Houck
202-489-5732
max.houck@mail.wvu.edu

Iowa Cold Cases
A nonprofit organization started by writer Jody Ewing.

John Jay College of Criminal Justice
The City University of New York
212-237-8000

The Mid-Atlantic Cold Case Homicide Investigators Association
David Cordle
P.O. Box 611
Annapolis, MD 21404
410-222-1740 ext. 3863
troops6@comcast.net
sacord62@aacounty.org

Tampa Bay Cold Case Project
Erin H. Kimmerle, Ph.D.
(813) 974-5139
kimmerle@usf.edu
Their website.

Regional Cold Case Web Resources

A very useful list maintained by:
National Clearinghouse for Science, Technology and the Law
at Stetson University College of Law
Their website.

Victim Organizations

Families of Homicide Victims and Missing Persons, Inc.
P.O. Box 145
Pine, CO 80470
303-934-3690
Their website.

National POMC
100 East Eighth Street, Suite B-41
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
E-mail: natlpomc@aol.com
(513) 721-5683 (phone)
(513) 345-4489 (fax)
Toll Free: (888) 818-POMC
Their website.

Vidocq Society Case Referrals
1704 Locust Street, Second Floor
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103
intake@vidocq.org
The Vidocq Society

Who Killed Our Kids
P.O. Box 27101
Cincinnati, Ohio 45227
(513) 404-8947
Their website.

Armed Forces

Naval Criminal Investigative Service
Investigative Service
Cold Case Program
(202) 433-9183

Law Enforcement

Alaska

Alaska State Troopers
Cold Case Unit
Commander Alaska Bureau of Investigation
Captain Matt LeVerge
(907) 269-5611

Arizona

Phoenix Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Sgt. Jack Millward
(602) 495-3655
jack.millward@phoenix.gov
Pima County Sheriff’s Department
Cold Case Unit
520-741-4810

Yuma Police Department
Investigations Unit
(928) 373-4670
Their website.

Arkansas

North Little Rock Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Butch Swain
(501) 351-1442

California

Alameda County Sheriff’s Office
Cold Case Unit
Sgt. Scott Dudek
510-667-7478
sdudek@acgov.org

Chula Vista Police Department
Cold Case Unit
Sergeant Yvette Roullier
(619) 691-5202
Robert Conrad, Cold Case Investigator
(619) 409-5463

Fresno Police Department
559-457-3057

Garden Grove Police Department
Crimes Against Persons Detail
Robert Romaine, Investigator
(714) 741-5838
bromaine@ci.garden-grove.ca.us
John Maciel, Investigator
(714) 741-5824
johnm@ci.garden-grove.ca.us
Larry Ebelt, Investigator
(714) 741-5833 – Fax

Indio Police Department
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Ed C. Williams
760-391-4057 Ext. 4531
ewilliams@indiopd.org

Kern County Sheriff’s Department (Bakersfield)
Cold Case Unit
661-391-7500 (general)
Special Deputy Mike Moore 661-391-7651(direct)

Long Beach Police Department
Homicide Unit
Corp. Dennis Robbins
562-570-7244

Los Angeles Police Department
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Capt. Kevin McClure
Det. Tim Marcia
Det. Richard Bengtson
(213) 486-6810

Pacific Grove Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Lt. Tom Uretsky
(831) 648-3151
turetsky@ci.pg.ca.us

Rialto Police Department
Cold Case Investigative Team
Sergeant Paul Stella
909-820-2632
pstella@rialtopd.com

Sacramento Police Department
Homicide – Cold Case Detective
Det. Peter Willover
916-433-0556

San Diego District Attorney’s Office
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Investigator Chuck Martin
(619) 531-4209
cmarti@sdcda.org

San Diego Police Department
Sgt. Jorge Duran
Homicide Cold Case Team
(619) 531-2473

San Francisco Police Department
Homicide Unit
415-553-1145

San Jose Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Lt. Michael Stern
(408) 277-5283

Santa Barbara Police Department
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Detective Mark Vierra
805-897-2426

Santa Barbara County Sheriff’s Department
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Det. Chuck Cooley
Det. Bill Henebry
805-681-4150

Santa Clara Police Department
Sergeant Wahid Kazem
(408) 615-4813 phone
(408) 615-7864 fax
wkazem@ci.santa-clara.ca.us

Colorado

The Denver Police Victim Assistance Unit Cold Case Program
Coordinator Sarah Chaikin
720-913-6677

Denver Police Department
Crime Lab/Cold Case Program
Gregg LaBerge
710-913-6015

Lakewood Police Department
Cold Case Hotlinet: 303-987-7474
coldcase@lakewoodco.org
Their website.

Connecticut

Connecticut State Squad
Office of the Chief State’s Attorney
Cold Case Squad
Chief Inspector Lawrence Skinner
860-258-5800
Their website.

Hartford Police Department
Cold Case Unit
Detective Michael Sheldon
(860) 757-4264
Their website.

District of Columbia

Metro Police Department
Violent Crime Case Review Project
Violent Criminal Apprehension Program/ViCAP
Det. James Trainum
202-727-5037

Florida

Charlotte County Sheriff’s Office
Major Crime Unit –Cold Case
Detective Michael Gandy
Michael.Gandy@ccso.org
Detective Kurt Mehl
Kurt.Mehl@ccso.org
Detective Michael Vogel
Michael.Vogel@ccso.org
941-639-2101
Their website. Click on Unsolved Crimes.

Florida Department of Law Enforcement
786-336-1000

Gainesville Police Department Cold Case website.

Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office (Consolidated Sheriff/Police)
Cold Case Team
Sgt. Jim Parker
904-630-2172
james.parker@jaxsheriff.org.

City of Miami Homicide
Cold Case Squad
Lt. John Buhrmaster
Det. Andy Arostegui
(305) 579-6530

Miami-Dade Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Sgt. Charles McCully
305-471-2400

Orange County Homicide
Det. Mark Hussey
Det. Dave Clarke
Mark.Hussey@ocfl.net
407-254-7000, ext. 70601

Pinellas County Sheriff’s Office (Largo, FL)
Homicide Unit/Cold Case Unit
Lt. Michael J. Ring
727-582-6333
727-582-6434 (Fax)
mring@pcsonet.com
Sgt. Thomas E. Klein
727-582-6307
tklein@pcsonet.com
Det. Michael L. Bailey
727-582-5808
mbailey@pcsonet.com

Polk County Florida
Cold Case Assessment Team
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Agent Tommy Ray
800-226-3133

Tallahassee Police Department
Criminal Investigations Divison
Homicide/Violent Crimes Unit
Inv. Jeff Mahoney
(850) 891-4555

Tampa Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Henry Duran
813-276-3514 (office) 813-299-3573 (cell)
Eric Houston
813-276-3529 (office) 813-239-6105 (cell)
John Columbia
813-276-3546 (office) 813-299-5572 (cell)

Georgia

Atlanta Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Investigator B. A. Zimbrick
(404) 853-4235

Pine Lake Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Director Sheryl McCollum
678-522-7217

Illinois

Chicago Police Department
Cold Case Unit
Commander Yvonne Sutor
(312) 746-9690

Cook County Sheriff’s Police
Cold Case Unit
Sgt. James Davis
708-865-4549
ccspdcoldcase@cookcountygov.com

Cook County States Attorney Office
Cold Murder Unit
Supervisor ASA Tom Biesty
Investigator Brian Killacky
(773) 869-3470

Illinois State Police
Homicide Unit (Cold Case)
Special Agent Jim Tsambikou
www.isp.state.il.us/
Dimitrios_Tsambikou@isp.state.il.us

Indiana

Elkhart Police Department
175 Waterfall Dr.
Elkhart, In. 46516
Det/Sgt. Bill Wargo
574-295-7070
bill.wargo@coei.org
Indiana State Police
Cold Case Squad
Det. Al Williamson
(219) 696-6242 x315
awilliamson@isp.state.in.us

Indianapolis Metro Police Dept
Cold Case Homicide
Det. Sgt. David Ellison
317-327-3849
E5384@indy.gov

St. Joseph County (Indiana)
Cold Case Investigator
Det. Tim Decker
574-235-5009

Kansas

Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Cold Case Squad
Special Agent in Charge Larry Thomas
(785) 296-8200

Wichita Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Det. Kelly Otis
316-268-4181

Kentucky

Kentucky State Police Cold Case website.

Louisiana

Baton Rouge Police Department
Homicide Division/Cold Case
Sgt. Dee Reed
225-389-4869
dreed@brgov.com

New Orleans Police Department
Homicide Cold Case Unit
(504) 658-5300
Their website.

St. Bernard Parish Sheriff’s Department
Homicide-Cold Case Section
Captain John Gutierrez
504-278-7660
jgutierrez@sbso.org

Maine

Main State Police
Criminal Investigation & Forensics
Unsolved Homicides
Their website.

Maryland

Baltimore Police Department
Cold Case Unit
Sgt. Roger W. Nolan
(410) 396-2121

Baltimore County Police Department
Homicide/Cold Case Unit
Detective Philip G. Marll
410-887-3943
pmarll@baltimorecountymd.gov

Maryland State Police (Columbia, Md)
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Roger D. Cassell-Director
Sgt. Tina Becker-Investigator
Sgt Scott Collier-Investigator
Cpl. John Branham-Investigator
(410) 953-8212
Their website, cold case link is on the left.

Montgomery County Police Department (MD)
Major Crimes Division Cold Case Unit
Detective Joe Mudano
Detective Ed Golian
240-773-5079
joseph.mudano@montgomerycountymd.gov

Massachusetts

Boston Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Sgt. Det. Bill Doogan
Detective Robert Pieroway
Detective Juan Torres
unsolvedhomicides.bpd@cityofboston.gov
(617) 343-4470

Michigan

Detroit Police Department
Homicide Section/Cold Case
Sgt. Odell Godbold
(313) 596-1644

Kent Metro Cold Case Team (Grand Rapids)
(616) 632-6123

Michigan Attorney General Cold Case Task Force
AGCriminal@michigan.gov

Michigan State Police
Cold Case Task Force
(517) 336-7782

Minnesota

The Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
Cold Case Unit
877- 996-6222
bca.coldcase@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Jackson Police Department
Cold Case Unit
Sgt. Joseph Wade
(601) 960-2235

Mississippi Bureau of Investigation
Cold Case Unit
Whitney Nickels
(662) 563-6438
wnickels@mdps.state.ms.us>

Missouri

Kansas City Missouri Police Department
Sgt. John Jackson
816-889-1451
jjackson@kcpd.org

Montana

Billings Police Department
Unsolved Cases
(406) 657-8467
Their website.

Yellowstone County
Cold Case Unit
406-869-3530
Their website.

Nebraska

Nebraska State Patrol Cold Case Unit
(402) 471-4545

Nevada

Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department
Ret. Detective Sergeant Kevin Manning
Det. George Sherwood
Det. David Culver
702-828-COLD (2653)
Cold Case website of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Dept. of Justice
Office of the Attorney General Cold Case Unit
(603) 271-2663
coldcaseunit@dos.nh.gov
Their website.

New Mexico

Albuquerque Police Department
Homicide Cold Case Unit
Det. Rich Lewis
505-768-2404
rlewis@cabq.gov
Mark Wilson
505-768-2436
mwilson@cabq.gov

New Jersey

Atlantic County Prosecutor’s Office
Major Crimes – Cold Case Squad
Mays Landing, NJ
Sgt. David S. Weiss
(609) 338-1548 Cell
(609) 909-7891 Desk
(609) 909-7804 Fax

New Jersey State Police
Major Crime Unit
Lt. Tom Macauley
(609) 882-2000 x2538
lpp4075@gw.njsp.org

Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office
Cold Case Unit
(732) 929-2027

New York

City of Buffalo NY Police Department
Homicide/Cold Case Unit
716-851-4511
716-851-4487 fax
mrd341@aol.com

New York City Police Department
Cold Case Squad
(718) 834-2777
coldcase@nypd.org

Syracuse Police Department
Cold Case Squad
(315) 442-5234
coldcasesquad@syracusepolice.org
Their website.

Westchester County
Yonkers Police Department
Police Cold Case Squad
(914) 377-7731/7732
Their website.

North Carolina

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department
Criminal Investigations Bureau
Homicide Division/Cold Case Unit
Sergeant Lisa Mangum
(704) 336-2294
mmangum@cmpd.org
Their website

Charlotte Mecklenburg Police Department
Sexual Assault Cold Case Unit
Detective Troy Armstrong
704-353-1744
Tarmstrong@cmpd.org

North Dakota

North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation
Cold Case Files
(800) 472-2185
Their website.

Ohio

Cleveland Police Department
Homicide Unit – Cold Case
Det. Joseph Chojnowski
(216) 623-5464

Columbus Division of Police , Columbus, OH
Unsolved Homicide Case Review Team
Det. Russell Redman #275
(614) 645-4036
Their website.

Montgomery County Cold Case DNA Task Force (Dayton, Oh)
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Det. Patty Tackett
(937) 333-7109
Inv. Rick May
(937) 333-1121

Richland County Unsolved Homicide Unit
Office of the Prosecuting Attorney
Det. Richard Duffey, Supervisor
(419)774-5676
rcpoinvestigations@hotmail.com

Warren County Sheriff’s Office
Cold Case Commander
Captain John Newsom
513-695-2343
newsjd@wcsooh.org

Oklahoma

Oklahoma City Police Department
Homicide Cold Case
Inspector Kyle Eastridge
405-316-4568
kyle.eastridge@okc.gov

Tulsa Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Detective Eddie Majors
(918) 596-9143
emajors@ci.tulsa.ok.us

Oregon

Douglas County Oregon Sheriff’s Office
Cold Case Squad
541-440-4446

Marion County Sheriff’s Office Cold Case Squad
(503) 540-8006
Their website.

Portland Police Bureau:
Cold Case Homicide Unit
1-503-823-HELP (4357)

Pennsylvania

Philadelphia Police Department
Special Investigation Unit
Lt. Mark Deegan
(215) 686-1233

South Carolina

Charleston Police Department
Cold Case Unit
(843) 577-7434
(843) 720-2487
Investigator Mike Gordon (unit supervisor)
gordonm@charleston-sc.gov

Columbia Police Department
Cold Case Unit
Inv. Mark W. Vinson
(803) 545-3602
mwvinson@columbiasc.net
Inv. Glenn J. Bullock
(803) 545-3650
gjbullock@columbiasc.net

Greenville County Sheriff’s Office
Violent Crimes Cold Case Unit
Inv. Bobby F. Alexander
864) 467-5279
balexander@greenvillecounty org
Inv. Joe G. Wood
(864) 467-5232
jowood@greenvillecounty.org

Richland County Sheriff’s Dept
Homicide Cold Case Squad
Gene Mincey
(803) 576-3114
gmincey@rcsd.net
Other investigators: Carl Craig, David Bell, and Bev Crane.

Tennessee

Memphis Police Department
Homicide/Cold Case Bureau
Sgt. W.L. Ashton
901-636-3391 desk
901-636-3300 office
901-636-3292 fax
901-515-6252 text message
william.ashton@memphistn.gov

Metropolitan Nashville Police Department
Homicide Section
Lt. Marlene Pardue
615-862-7511
marlene.pardue@nashville.gov

Rutherford County Sheriff’s Office
Criminal Investigations Cold Case Unit 
Detective Lt. Bill Sharp
(615) 904-3015
Detective Sgt. Dan Goodwin
(615) 904-3034

Texas

Arlington Police Department
Arlington, Texas
Cold Case Homicide Unit
Detective Tommy Le Noir
817-459-5735 tom.lenoir@arlingtontx.gov

Austin Police Department
Homicide-Cold Case Unit
Sgt Ron Lara
(512) 974-8572
ron.lara@ci.austin.tx.us

Dallas Police Department
Homicide Unit Cold Case Squad
Det. Linda Crum
214-671-3679
LINDA.CRUM@dpd.dallascityhall.com

El Paso County Sheriff’s Office
Cold Case Unit
Scott Fischer
Cold Case Investigator
(719) 520-7163

El Paso Police Department
Crimes Against Persons Division
Cold Case Squad
Lt. Alfred Lowe
915-564-7010

Fort Worth Police Department
Homicide Unit
Sgt. J.D. Thornton
817-877-8225

Harris County Sheriff’s Office
Cold Case Squad
Sergeant Dean Holtke
Sergeant Eric Clegg
713-967-5911

Houston Police Department
Debbie McMenemy
703-308-3600

San Angelo Police Department
Criminal Investigation Division
Det. Paul Dyer
325-657-4256
paul.dyer@sanangelopolice.org

San Antonio Police Department
Cold Case Squad
Lt. Joe MacKay
Det. Elizebeth Ann Greiner
Det. Sean Walsh
(210) 207-7401

The Texas Rangers
Unsolved Crimes Investigation Team
210-832-9447
210-832-9495 (Fax)

Travis County Sheriff’s Office (Austin)
Lt. Jamie R. Page, Major Crimes Supervisor
Admin 512-854-9770
24/7 512-854-9285
jamie.page@co.travis.tx.us

Utah

Utah Office of the Attorney General
Cold Case Files
Their website.

Virginia

Arlington Police Department
Cold Case Squad
703-228-4231

Bedford Co. Va. Sheriff’s Office
Homicide Cold Case Unit
Sgt. Gary Babb
540-586-7628
Gbabb@bedfordsheriff.org

Fairfax County Police Department
Cold Case Squad
703-246-7800
2nd Lt. Bruce Guth
Detective Bob Murphy
Detective Chris Flanagan
Christopher.Flanagan@fairfaxcounty.gov
Detective Paul O’Neill
Detective John Kelly

Henrico County Police Department
Cold Case Review Team
Investigator Robert D. Hewlett
804-501-5378
Hew@co.henrico.va.us
Investigator Judy M. Berger
804-501-5240
Ber11@co.henrico.va.us
Lt. Steve Schaaf
804-501-4863
Sch56@co.henrico.va.us

Newport News Police Department
Cold Case Coordinator Homicide Unit
MPD A. C. Schraudt
757-928-4221

Richmond Police Department
Cold Case Homicide Unit
200 W. Grace Street
Richmond, VA 23200
Fax: (804) 646-4223
Sgt. Max Matko
(804) 646-0606
matkomm@ci.richmond.va.us
Detective Kenneth C. Foster
(804) 646-3924
fosterkc@ci.richmond.va.us
Detective Jason B. Hudson
(804) 646-3875
Hudsonjb@ci.richmond.va.us
Detective James A. Simmons
(804) 646-3920
simmonsja@ci.richmond.va.us
Detective Clifton A. Jackson
(804) 646-0071
jacksonca@ci.richmond.va.us

Virginia Beach Police Department
Detective Bureau
Cold Case Homicide
Det. Paul Yoakam
757-427-8320

Washington

Seattle Police Department
Cold Case Unit
Detective Mike Ciesynski
206-684-5571
Michael.Ciesynski@seattle.gov

West Virginia

West Virginia State Police
Cold Case Unit
Sgt. Danny Swiger (For Northern West Virginia)
304-329-1101
Sgt. Mike Spradlin (For Southern West Virginia)
304-647-7600

Wisconsin

Milwaukee Police Cold Case Unit
414-935-1212
Their website.

Wisconsin Department of Justice
Office of Crime Victim Services
Their website.

Wyoming

Wyoming Attorney General
Division of Criminal Investigation Unsolved Cases
Their website.

If you are not getting an adequate response from law enforcement click here for instructions.

Be Sociable, Share!